A complaint from a genuine, certified, honest to Maud Geek Girl.

Here ya go.  I am an honest to Maud Geek Girl.  (I even identify myself as a “girl” like 98% of the time when asked my preference, even though prefer no one make assumptions.)

You know what I’m tired of?  I’m tired of people assuming I’m going to hop on board with them condemning other women because they’re “fake” or “not geek enough.”

I had a conversation with a friend once about who was a real derby girl (because I was a skater before I broke my ankle, and someday I’m hoping to get back there) and she said “Any girl who identifies herself as a derby girl is a derby girl.  Not just hot shot jammers or bad ass blockers.  A girl who cares enough about the game the know the rules.  The girl who makes a coffee run on set up night.  Any girl who is passionate about derby is entitled to be a derby girl.”

So.  Any woman who is passionate about something is welcome to come sit over here in the Geek Women and Girls corner.  Even if the thing she’s passionate about is knitting, but she’s “famous” on the internet for sticking video game controllers in her mouth and taking sultry pictures. 

I’m done questioning other women’s self-identification.  I have dragons to kill and treasure to steal.

Leave a Reply

